July Book Haul

Photo 29-7-17, 4 00 44 pm

July is always a fun month for me, not only is it my birthday month, but it’s my boyfriend’s as well, so there’s always lots to look forward to. Needless to say, I’m sad July is already over, it’s been a great month with lots of time spent with friends and family which has kept me busy, but maybe August will be a bit quieter and I can get more reading done!

Okay, so you may have noticed that I didn’t post a June book haul, and that’s really just because June completely got away from me. I only started working full time earlier this year and I’m finding it quite hard to make time for blog writing. I know so many bloggers out there are great at juggling both but I haven’t found my rhythm with it quite yet. On top of being busy with work, I also had to go away at the end of last month to attend a friend’s wedding, and so in the end I just couldn’t find time to sit down and blog unfortunately. But I’m determined to get back on track, and have combined the books I got last month with this month’s book haul post. So without further ado, here is my July (and June) book haul.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry’s fourth year at Hogwarts revolves around the Triwizard Tournament, a competition that brings three schools together, each with their own ‘champion’ competing in a series of dangerous tasks. Things take a strange turn though when Harry’s name gets entered in the tournament, and it becomes clear that something more sinister is going on.

Voldemort returns at the end of this book, and so the tone shifts to a darker world, with much more dangerous risks for each of our favourite characters. I read this book so long ago that I can only really remember what happens in the movies, a sad fact that I’m going to remedy soon with a reread of all the Harry Potter books!

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

This one follows Harry during his fifth year at Hogwarts. Voldemort is back and everything is different. Harry finds himself feeling isolated from everyone he loves, with many refusing to believe the return of Voldemort. A character everyone loves to hate, Dolores Umbridge, is introduced, who makes life hell for everyone at Hogwarts.

This is the book when you feel like the characters really start fighting back (who didn’t want to be part of Dumbledore’s Army?), everything is getting just that little more serious. Of course J K Rowling just had to break our hearts in this one, piling onto Harry’s never ending pain and showing us that no one is safe.

Photo 25-6-17, 1 23 49 pm

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

The re-emergence of Voldemort can no longer be denied, though that doesn’t mean there isn’t time for a little romance, with quite a bit of focus being put on the relationships of Harry, Ron and Hermione. Harry also starts taking lessons with Dumbledore, and learning about Horcruxes (as though school wasn’t hard enough).

Yet more heartache in this book, with the death of another beloved character. A lot more backstory was given in this instalment of the series, and we learnt more about Voldemort before he became the dark lord. I remember reading the big battle at the end of this book and loving it. When the movie was coming out I was so excited for that scene only to find that it had been cut completely, I was (and still am) really disappointed about that.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

The last book. I can remember waiting anxiously for this book to come out along with what, at the time, felt like every other person in the world, to find out what would happen next to Harry Potter and his friends. J K Rowling continued to break hearts in this last instalment with some much beloved characters losing their lives in this final war against Voldemort and his dark followers.

This is the only book that doesn’t follow Harry at Hogwarts, instead he, Ron and Hermione have set off to hunt down the remaining Horcruxes and end Voldemort for good. The story culminated in an epic battle at Hogwarts, where we learnt Snape’s long held secret (and who didn’t weep!), and Harry and Voldemort face off for the final time.

Photo 25-6-17, 1 28 22 pm

The Handmaid’s Tale

I received The Handmaid’s Tale as a birthday present and was stoked when I unwrapped it. A few people have been telling me how good the TV show adaption of this book is, and of course being the bookworm I am, I resolved to make sure I read the book first. I’ve only read one other book by Margaret Atwood, and that was Alias Grace back when I was at uni (which feels like a million years ago!). I’m pretty keen to watch the TV show, so will likely try and read this book as soon as possible.

Offred lives in a world that is without women’s right, where a woman is forbidden even to read. She is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead, and only has one function: to breed. If she deviates from this purpose she will be hanged at the wall or sent out to slowly die of radiation sickness like all other dissenters.

A Promise of Fire

Disguised as a soothsayer in a travelling circus, Cat is more than happy to avoid the danger and destiny the Gods, and her homicidal mother, have saddled her with. But when she encounters Griffin, an ambitious warlord, her illusion of safety is shattered and her life is thrown back into danger.

I have been wanting to get my hands on this book for so long! I don’t even really know why, it’s not a book I’ve seen around or heard people talking about, but somewhere along the line I read the synopsis and knew I had to read this. It just sounds like something right up my street, and the cover is beautiful. I purchased A Promise of Fire with a book voucher I received as another of my birthday presents (my loved ones know me so well), and I had to look at a few different stores to find it. When I finally did, I snatched it up immediately and cradled it closely to my chest while wandering through the book store. Does anyone else do that when they finally find a book they’ve been searching for?

Photo 29-7-17, 3 56 33 pm.jpg

Leave a Reply

