May Book Haul

Photo 27-5-17, 4 30 22 pm

Yep, it’s book haul time again! I don’t know what it is about May, but for me it’s usually the month I always forget about. Also, after having such a busy month in April, May was just really quiet. There’s not really anything that happens in May, in Melbourne the weather starts getting really chilly, there aren’t any public holidays, nothing that really makes it stand out, it’s the understated month.

Aside from that, is anyone else in complete shock that it’s June! What is happening with this year, it just keeps disappearing. I feel like my reading time keeps slipping away, I haven’t been reading nearly as much as I’d like. I don’t feel like I’m in a slump, more that during May it just felt like I was working and doing not much else.

I only have three books in my May book haul, but they are three books that were very high on my wish list.

The Beauty and the Beast

How stunning is this book! After watching the new Beauty and the Beast film, I saw this popping up on bookstagram and fell in love. It’s such a beautiful book, and I’ve actually never read the original Beauty and the Beast story by Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve, I’ve just read retellings so I’m really excited to finally read the original story.

Most people are familiar with this tale as old as time (sorry I had too!), which tells the story of a young woman who becomes imprisoned by a cursed Beast whose curse can only be lifted if he falls in love and is loved in return. This story is a classic, and the accompanying illustrations in this edition are gorgeous. This has always been a favourite fairy tale of mine and I’m so happy to have this beautiful book. Now excuse me while I just go and pop on a Disney movie…

Photo 27-5-17, 4 28 44 pm.jpg

A Court of Wings and Ruin

Following straight on from where A Court of Mist and Fury left off, A Court of Wings and Ruin jumps straight back into the world of Prythian. Feyre is parted from her family, and must learn the movements of her enemies. With war looming she needs to find allies amongst the deadly High Lords and decide who to trust before everything they love is destroyed.

Like nearly everyone else on bookstagram, I looked forward to the release of this book. While Sarah J Maas is not my favourite author, and I find many problems with her books, I still enjoy reading them. They are quite easy reads, with interesting characters. I’ve enjoyed delving into this world Maas has created, though I think this is the last instalment of this series. Is that right? I’m not really sure if there are going to be more books in this series, but it felt like an ending.

Hunted

Yeva has always felt more comfortable out in the wilderness, rather than within the constrains of polite society, so she is not too upset when her father loses his fortune and the family have to move to the outskirts of town. But when Yeva’s father goes missing in the woods, she goes hunting for the creature her father had been tracking. She follows the mysterious Beast back to a ruined castle and discovers a world of magical creatures.

I was well and truly bitten by the Beauty and the Beast bug in May, and was just wanting all things Beauty and the Beast related so also added this retelling to my book haul. I’ve heard this retelling by Meagan Spooner is quite a good one, so I’m really hoping I enjoy it. I have read quite a lot of retellings, but I love finding new ones, there’s just something really enjoyable about reading a new twist on an old favourite (when it’s done well of course!).

Photo 27-5-17, 4 26 27 pm

Leave a Reply

