February Book Haul

photo-26-2-17-4-34-57-pm

February has been a month of big changes for me, with a new job and longer hours spent working, I haven’t had much free time. I have to admit that books have fallen on the back burner as a result, I just haven’t had nearly as much time for reading as I used too, and have mostly been to tired when I did have time. I think that’s to be expected with a new job though, and once everything settles into a new routine I’ll be able to get back into good reading habits. Hopefully!

I still managed to get some books this month that I’m really excited to read. I found a place near work that has a great selection of books, so I can definitely see myself adding to my bookshelf quite regularly over the next few months.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

As mentioned in a previous post, I’ve started collecting the Harry Potter books so I can reread the beloved series, that admittedly I haven’t read in so long. I’m actually up to the Chamber of Secrets, but it wasn’t in the store when I went to buy it, so I just got the third book to have ready for when I get to it. I think I’ll just buy the books as I see them from now on, regardless of the order, because I have the fear that a new cover collection could come out and I’d end up with a mismatched set, and I don’t know about everyone else, but I hate that.

Prisoner of Azkaban focuses a lot more on the friendships of Harry’s parents and Harry learns more about the kind of people they were. This book introduces us to so many great characters, Lupin has always been a favourite of mine, and Sirius, Harry’s last chance at family, is one of the few people who can understand Harry’s struggles. The third Harry Potter book is also the only one in the series in which Voldemort isn’t the main antagonist, which may have something to do with why a lot of people seem to not love this book, but it’s one of my faves.

photo-26-2-17-4-39-57-pm

Frostblood

A world where fire and ice are enemies. Ruby is a Fireblood, and has had to survive surrounded by her enemies. Being a Fireblood will get you killed in a land ruled by frost, the story starts with the murder of Ruby’s mother, and her following quest for vengeance against the Frost King.  Add in a mysterious Frostblood rebel, and you’ve got a really great storyline.

It was the blurb of this book that totally hooked me. It wasn’t a book that was on my wish list, or really on my radar at all but I spotted it and after reading the back cover had to buy it. I love the idea of fire and ice fighting it out, and am really intrigued by the world Elly Blake has created, and what kind of magic and history are connected with this world. I haven’t really heard much talk about this book, but it definitely sounds right up my alley, and though my TBR is painfully long, this one is pretty close to the top.

Traitor to the Throne

Rebel of the Sands was one of my favourite reads last year, so when I saw the next book in the series on a store shelf, I snapped it up pretty quickly. I’m looking forward to diving back into this world, it’s so rich, well developed and different from other fantasy settings I’ve read about, with interesting and diverse characters, who are tough enough to face the harshest of challenges. It looks like Traitor to the Throne will pick up where the first one left off, and throw us right back into the action.

In the first book, Alwyn Hamilton created a desert world that presented a daily struggle for survival, with a kickass heroine, Amani, who would do whatever it took to be free. The rebellion started to really take off in the first story, with Amani just starting to uncover her full power. I can’t wait to read this next instalment and see just how far the rebellion will go, also as a side note, is anyone else obsessed with how beautiful the covers of this series are!

What was in your February book haul?

photo-26-2-17-4-43-48-pm

Leave a Reply

