January Book Haul

photo-31-1-17-4-28-30-pm

First month of the year is now done and dusted. January is always a bit of a funny month, it takes a bit of time to get back into a normal routine, and to remember to write 2017 instead of 2016. Like everyone else I’ve set goals for myself this year that include everything from career, home, travel, as well as book related goals, such as creating content for this blog and my Instagram account.

I don’t really set reading goals for the year though, I try to read at least a few books a month, but I don’t like to put too much pressure on myself to read a certain number of books. I’ve had a slow start to the year with books, both in buying and reading them, but sometimes that just happens. There are so many books that I want to buy and read this year, the list is never ending, so I’m really looking forward to discovering some great new stories this year. I’m starting the year with a rather small book haul, but I can’t wait to start reading!

Island of Glass

So I know I don’t stop going on about Nora Roberts sometimes, but I’m not sorry about it! If you’ve read my previous blog posts, you’ll know that I’m really loving The Guardians Trilogy at the moment. I’ve already read the first two instalments and they’ve left me greedy for more. Island of Glass is the last book, which makes me both excited and sad, and it was my first book purchase of 2017.

The Guardians Trilogy follows six strangers who are brought together for a dangerous magical quest. As the bonds of friendship grow so too does romance. Each book focuses on a different couple as they fall in love, while the group works to complete their quest and fight off an evil enemy that wants them to fail.

photo-31-1-17-4-28-19-pm

Truthwitch

This is a book that I have heard a lot of good things about. People have been absolutely raving about Truthwitch, and I believe the next book in the series has also just recently come out. I’m really excited to read this new series and I hope it lives up to all the hype because I feel like I haven’t read a new story that focuses mainly on witches in a really long time.

A story of two young witches on the run from those who would use their powers for their own means. In the world Susan Dennard has created, there are different types of witches with different powers, in a really interesting world of clashing magical empires. It seems like this will be a story with lots of action and adventure, and will be a really fun read.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

When a young boy learns he’s a wizard and will be attending a school of witchcraft and wizardry, he discovers a whole new world filled with magic and dangers he never knew. For those who haven’t read Harry Potter, or have somehow managed to live their lives so far without knowing anything about the world J.K. Rowling created, fix that right now!

There’s nothing new about this book, other than I don’t own a full collection of the Harry Potter series, and this book is starting off my collection. It’s seems shocking, I know, but I never really thought about not having a complete collection. I’d always had access to the books, but now I really just want my own copies. I wasn’t a big fan of the covers of this collection when I first saw it, but I’ve grown to really like it and can’t wait till I have them all on my bookshelf.

A small book haul to kick start the year, but I’m super happy with my new books, what books did you get during January?

photo-31-1-17-4-30-12-pm

Leave a Reply

