Best reads of 2016

photo-23-12-16-6-10-16-pm

We are now into the second week of 2017, everyone’s come down from their festive high and gotten back into a normal routine. 2016 is well and truly over, and now even Christmas feels like forever ago. I’m sure I’m not alone in feeling like 2016 just flew by. Now’s the time when everyone looks back on the previous year, reflects on everything that happened, both the good and the bad, and starts making plans for 2017.

2016 was the year that I really discovered booktube and started getting into bookstagram. I’ve always been a book lover but I’d never really thought much about using these different social media platforms to further the interest (silly, I know), and though I was pretty late to the party, I found them such good places to get book recommendations. Before watching booktube videos I went through long phases of not being able to find anything new to read, but once I found some bookbloggers that I liked and who enjoy similar books and genres, I ended up with a never ending list of books on my TBR.

I read some really great books last year, discovered some amazing new series and added quite a few authors to my favourites list. Fantasy is my favourite genre and I felt that I read so much of it last year, so it’s not too surprising that my favourites list is made up of fantasy books.

The Young Elites

I had heard so much about The Young Elites, everyone seemed to rave about how good it is. Combined with the premise of the book, a world ravaged by a plague that left many dead and some with a little something extra, I was instantly intrigued so it went on my wish list. Once I started reading this book I could not put it down. I read the whole book over two days, and it was just as good as people said it was. It’s now become one of those books that I recommend to everybody, and while I haven’t yet read the rest of the series I have high hopes that it is just as good as the first. Reading this book has also made me want to read Marie Lu’s Legend series, which I’ve also heard good things about.

The Guardians Trilogy

If you’ve been following my blog then you might know that I’m a big fan of Nora Roberts. She’s an instant buy author for me, and while I do like some of her books a lot better than others, I always enjoy reading her books. The Guardians Trilogy has become one of my favourites of hers, one that follows six strangers brought together for a dangerous and magical quest. As soon as I read the first book I fell in love with the story and the characters, and the second instalment was just as good. I haven’t yet read the last book in this trilogy yet but it’s on my wish list and I’m feeling pretty confident about loving that one too.

Rebel of the Sands

The stunning cover is what initially drew me to pick up Alwyn Hamilton’s book; it hadn’t been on my radar at all and was a complete impulse buy. But I’m so glad I found Rebel of the Sands. From its desert setting where life is hard, to its tough characters, it hooked me straight away. I still don’t feel like I’ve heard too many people talking about this book so maybe it’s flown a little under the radar, but for me it was a standout book of the year. The desert world was so immersive and different to other books I’ve read. A must read for all fantasy lovers.

A Court of Mist and Fury

Pretty much anything by Sarah J. Maas is surrounded by a lot of hype these days, and for good reason. She writes amazing fantasy stories with strong and fleshed out characters, and stunning worlds that you wish were real. For me I’ve started preferring the Court of Thorns and Roses series over her Throne of Glass series, and while I did have a few issues, which I talked about in my review of the book, overall I really enjoyed the story. Like everyone else I fell in love with the secondary characters that were introduced and can’t wait to see where their storylines end up, hopefully not with too much heartbreak!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

This book was not on my radar at all, and the first time I ever heard of it was actually when I was buying a Sarah J. Maas book in a bookstore and the girl who served me recommended Daughter of Smoke and Bone as another great read. I’m so glad someone told me to get this book, it has definitely been one of my favourite reads for the year, I love the world and characters that Laini Taylor created. The story came together in a really clever and interesting way that kept me completely enthralled. I’ve been slow to get the other books in this series, but they will definitely be on my shopping list for 2017.

There are plenty of other books that I loved last year, but these were just at the top of my list. What were your favourite books of 2016?

photo-23-12-16-5-31-45-pm

One thought on “Best reads of 2016

Leave a Reply

