December Book List

photo-1-1-17-2-38-47-pm

December is a busy month for pretty much everyone, and as much as I enjoy the Christmas period, I also find it quite exhausting, and can’t deny that I feel some amount of relief when it’s over. I would have liked to have this blog post up yesterday, but I just ended up running out of time, so it has now become my first post of 2017.

As far as reading goes, December was a total write off for me. I had barely any time for reading and on the rare occasion I did have time, I was usually too tired to be able to concentrate on a book. Despite my slump, I still managed to gain some really great books during the last month of 2016, both gifts from myself and from loved ones for Christmas, and am very happy with my December book haul. Two of the books I got in December are stunning illustrated versions of stories I love, which I can’t wait to take some photos of, they are seriously beautiful!

I’m really excited to read some great books in this new year, with some highly anticipated books patiently waiting on my shelf to be picked up.

One that I have been dying to read is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. People absolutely rave about this book! I haven’t read anything by Leigh Bardugo before, but this story about a group of dangerous outcasts who need to work together to pull off a break-in, sounds really intriguing. With six characters, each with their own flaws, and agendas, it sounds like a lot of fun and very character driven, which I like.

I don’t think my life would be the same without Harry Potter, it’s had so much influence on me and is a story that will stick with me forever. These versions, illustrated by Jim Kay, are so gorgeous. The illustrations bring the story to life, and make for a really enjoyable reading experience (not that it wasn’t already). These hardcover illustrated copies will be adored by Harry Potter lovers, but are also a great new way to introduce new readers to J.K. Rowling’s story of a boy wizard.

Rosamund Hodge’s Cruel Beauty is a retelling of beauty and the beast, which is one of my absolute favourite fairytales. This book sounds like a bit of a darker themed version, with the beauty having been betrothed to the beast from birth, and grown up training to kill him and release her people from his power. I love reading new twists on old favourites, especially a magical love story set in a dark and mysterious world.

The Diabolic was on my Christmas wish list and I was lucky enough to receive it amongst my Christmas presents. This sci-fi by S. J. Kincaid, follows the diabolic, Nemesis, who has been created for the sole purpose of protecting a specific person for her whole life, by any means necessary. When Nemesis has to take the place of her human, things start to get really dangerous, and Nemesis starts to question what it is to be human.

I have really enjoyed the story of The Nutcracker for a long time, and so when I received this beautiful illustrated copy of E.T.A Hoffmann’s story on Christmas day I was so happy to get such a special book. The Nutcracker is a story I like to reread at Christmas time, and I’m glad that I now have a illustrated version I can flick through when Christmas rolls back around, though I’ll definitely be looking through it a few times before then. Such a beautiful book and a lovely addition to my ever growing collection.

I hope everyone had a good Christmas and New Years, and has a great 2017, filled with amazing new stories!

photo-1-1-17-2-45-18-pm

Leave a Reply

