Christmas Wish List 2016

photo-10-12-16-3-14-01-pm

It’s that time of year again, and instead of going on about how I can’t believe it’s Christmas already, I’m just going to say how excited I am for Christmas. I definitely fall into the boat of people who love this time of year. My anticipation levels are high. Now is the time for gingerbread, decorations and Christmas movies. Now while here in Australia we might be wearing skirts and sandals instead of coats and knits, it’s no less festive (just in a different way). I love putting up Christmas decorations, and every year I seem to add more, but I love making my home feel festive.

Now there’s no denying I have wish list of books year round, I still think it’s worth putting together a list for this time of year. Whether you are looking for something for yourself or maybe wanting to find something for a bookworm you know, here’s a collection of the books on my wish list this Christmas, and just maybe they’ll be on yours too.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them

I have to admit I didn’t feel all that excited for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. There was a lot of hype around the film coming out, but I just never really got caught up in. I knew I’d most likely see the movie at some point but I was in no real rush for it. I went to see the film the other week, because some friends had said that it was actually quite good and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by just how much I really enjoyed the film! It was as magical and fun as it should be and now I’m really keen to get the screenplay. It’s been brought out in a beautiful hardcover book that I think will make a great present this year for Harry Potter fans and book lovers. It’s certainly got its place on my wish list!

Harry Potter Box Set

Speaking of Harry Potter…pretty much any Harry Potter books make excellent Christmas presents, from the gorgeous illustrated versions that started coming out last year, to a complete box set of all the Harry Potter books. I have to admit I don’t currently own a set of Harry Potter books. I read the series when I was young, but the books were shared by the family and then for years I didn’t like the different book covers that were available. I’ve got the two Jim Kay illustrated books that are out, so eventually I’ll have a full set of those, but I don’t have a set of the novels and they are high up on my wish list this year. A great gift for anyone, and if someone’s not a bookworm, you could always get the boxset of the Harry Potter films.

photo-10-12-16-3-07-29-pm

The Diabolic

A new sci-fi book by S. J. Kincaid, this seems like a really interesting story, and the cover is beautiful which every book lover knows is just really pleasing. A Diabolic is a humanoid created with the sole purpose of protecting a specific person for their whole life, but when Diabolic, Nemesis, realises that the only way to protect her charge is to pretend to be her, it opens up a whole can of worms of what it really means to be human. This sounds like a really good story, something a bit different and the cover is really nice as well, with two different colour options available. I think this book would be a great present, I’ve heard it’s quite a good read, and any book lovers are sure to appreciate this as a gift.

Island of Glass

It’s no secret that I’m a big Nora Roberts fan, she’s probably one of the only contemporary authors that I consistently go back to. Island of Glass is the last book in the Guardians Trilogy, which I have been loving so far. The trilogy follows six strangers who are brought together by a magical destiny; each book focuses on a different couple as their relationship develops and the different task the group are faced with. As well as a magical quest, this series has a strong focus on relationships, both romantic and the ties of friendship which I really like. If you’re already a Nora Roberts fan then you’re sure to enjoy this series, but it would also make a good gift for anyone who enjoys romance novels with fantasy elements.

Books make such great gifts, there’s a genre for everyone and even if you’re looking for a gift for someone who’s not much of a bookworm, you can always find a non-fiction book on something they’re really interested in and they’re sure to enjoy it!

photo-10-12-16-2-49-05-pm

Leave a Reply

