September Book List

photo-16-9-16-2-36-11-pm

What a great reading month September was! Well, it was for me, and hopefully for everyone else as well. Not least of all because of the release of a book that has been highly anticipated by many book lovers out there, myself very much included.

All in all, I’m very happy with my September book haul. I’ve added some great books to my collection and coincidently ended up having a theme of all white/light coloured books. I have to say I find something aesthetically pleasing about that, as I find that many book covers, while beautiful, have dark covers, or at least the ones I have. This month’s haul has definitely lightened and brightened up my bookshelf.

Steelheart is my first foray into one of Brandon Sanderson’s books. I love the idea behind this book: imagine if humans suddenly got superpowers, but instead of becoming heroes they became villains. I think it’s a really interesting take on the popular superhero theme. I’ve also heard great things about Sanderson’s other books and will have to look into those as well, but for now I thought this would be a good one to start with.

The one we’ve all been waiting for, Empire of Storms. I was so excited for this Sarah J. Maas book to finally come out, as I’m pretty sure all book lovers were. There was so much hype surrounding this book and not without just cause, as the rest of the books in the Throne of Glass series have been so good so far. I couldn’t get a hold of the book on its release day so I got it on kindle first so I could read it straight away, I was so worried about spoilers.

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes follows the backstory of the Queen of Wonderland before Alice fell down the rabbit hole, before she was even Queen. I have to admit that Alice in Wonderland has never been a story I’ve really liked. I’ve always found Alice rude and unlikeable and the Wonderland to be more creepy than wonderful, nevertheless I thought I’d give this book a go. Also it was hard to pass up a book with such a beautiful cover.

This book kept popping up in my Instagram feed, and at first it was the cover that got my attention, but then when I found out what the premise for the book was I was really intrigued. Claudia Gray’s A Thousand Pieces of You is about a young girl who chases her father’s killer through different dimensions only to discover that everything might not be what she thought. Multidimensional travel is not something I’ve read too much in books, though I’ve become familiar with the idea of multiple versions of the universe through some tv shows I’ve watched.

I hope everyone else got some great books in September. Happy reading!

photo-16-9-16-2-32-23-pm

Leave a Reply

