August Book List

Photo 30-08-2016, 3 59 08 PM

I felt like I got back on track with my reading in August. I got some really great fantasy books that have had me excited to keep reading and helped to pull me out of my reading slump.

It’s hard to believe that it’s the end of August already, this year has gone so quickly and I feel like the rest of it will just fly by. Life seems to be getting busier and busier this time of year, but I’m so good at procrastinating that I know I’ll have to put more effort into keeping on top of everything. Reading and blogging included.

I definitely find that I can get quite lazy when it comes to my blog and I need to get into a better routine with it. I think part of it comes from finding blogging difficult. I’m not sure why because I do a lot of writing with various other aspects of my life, but for some reason blogging doesn’t come as easily to me as other forms of writing.

I find that reading other book related blogs can help motivate me, as well as reading really good (or bad) books, so here’s to hoping the books I picked up this month can help me get into gear with blogging!

I love the Throne of Glass series but for some reason it took me a long time to pick up Queen of Shadows. I read the first three books so long ago, and I did want to reread them before reading this one to refresh my memory, but I never quite got around to it. I do think it would have been better if I’d reread the others because I felt there were a few details I couldn’t remember too well. It didn’t stop my from loving this book though, it’s just so good! Sarah J Maas is one of my must read authors. This book pulled me out of my reading rut because I couldn’t put it down once I started it.

I picked this one up on a whim just before I went away for a few days. I hadn’t heard anything about Ruined by Amy Tintera when I bought it, though I have started seeing it pop up on bookstagram lately. It’s a quick and easy fantasy book that features different kingdoms at war and one young woman who has to get close to the enemy in order to save her people, and I really enjoyed it. There’s a really interesting magic system in this story that hints at so much more to be discovered.

I’ve been wanting to get Cinder for so long, the first book in Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles series, I’ve heard such great things about this series. I love fairy tale retellings and love finding new ones with a different twist. From what I’ve heard this is more of a sci-fi twist on the classic Cinderella story, in which the Cinderella character is actually a cyborg. It sounds like a fun read and I’m looking forward to getting into it.

Happy reading!

Photo 30-08-2016, 3 57 25 PM

Leave a Reply

