July Book List

02

July was such a busy month for me, I had so much good stuff going on with birthdays and people coming to visit who I hadn’t seen for ages. It was a really fun month, but was non-stop and flew by so quickly. I’m trying not to think too hard about how quickly the year seems to be going, because I definitely haven’t read nearly as many books yet this year as I want to. There are so many books on my radar at the moment, and with some books I’ve been highly anticipating being released within the next few months, I’m finding it hard to stop myself from buying all of them.

I’ve read some really great books this month and have finally started feeling like I’m getting back on track with my reading. I’ve found that after finishing a few books off in just a few sittings I’ve wanted to maintain that momentum and just keep reading.

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner’s book These Broken Stars is such a beautiful looking book, I also love the idea of two characters get stranded somewhere and having to rely on each other to survive. The setting of this book is really cool, the planet the two main characters crash land on is rather strange and mysterious, where you’re not quite sure what’s going on. I’ve really enjoyed this book so far, it leans more towards being sci-fi than fantasy and is a fun adventure/survival story with a sweet romance developing between the two survivors.

I got Matilda for my birthday to go along with tickets to see the Matilda theatre production that’s currently showing in Melbourne (which I’m super excited for). I don’t think I’ve ever actually read Matilda, I know I watched the film a lot when I was a kid and I read other Roald Dahl books, but just never this one. I am looking forward to sitting down with it though, there’s something nostalgic about reading a Dahl book, they’ll filled with fun and magic.

Bay of Sighs is the second book in Nora Roberts Guardians trilogy and it was just as good as the first. I am completely in love with this series, I pretty much couldn’t put the book down as soon as I got it and read it within two days. Any Roberts fans, or even just fans of light fantasy will enjoy this book with its great characters and exotic island setting. The last book in this series comes out in December and it couldn’t come soon enough!

I hope everyone else got some great new books during July.

01

Leave a Reply

