May Book List

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Is it just me or did May just fly by? I swear this month went so quickly that I feel like I barely had time to do anything. My May book list is a short one, I did manage to buy some great new books though, even if I haven’t yet read them all.

I got hold of a few books I’d been wanting for a while and am excited to get into really soon. Sometimes when I’m really looking forward to a book I get a bit hesitant to start reading it, because what if it’s either not as good as you’d hoped or it’s so good that you read it all in one sitting and then it’s over. Never to be read for the first time again. I know that’s pretty silly, but I love reading a book for the first time and I hate that you can only do that once.

I’d heard good things about this book, and so far I’m loving Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It’s a bit of a hard one to explain, but I think it’s better to go into it without knowing too much. It’s filled with mysteries to be uncovered, with lots of interesting turns in the story, so you can never be completely sure of what will happen next and where the story will go. A fantasy book filled with different magical creatures that exist, not always peacefully, in a strange mix of our world and theirs. So far, a very intriguing read.

I haven’t read anything else by Neil Gaiman, but I’ve always wanted to pick up one of his books. I’d heard that this was a good one, though I don’t really know too much of what it’s actually about, other than it contains dark elements of fantasy. The Ocean at the End of the Lane has quite a different writing style than what I’m used to reading. It’s told from the perspective of the main character who is a bit dry, so it reads a little bit slow so far, but the story is interesting enough to keep me reading.

Okay, who else has been looking forward to this book as much as I have? As soon as I finished the first book in this series I couldn’t wait for the next instalment to come out, and now that it has I’m really excited to start reading A Court of Mist and Fury! I’ve been hearing good things about this book so far, with many people claiming it to be even better than A Court of Thorns and Roses. I can only hope it will live up to the hype, though I’m sure it will, Sarah J. Maas never disappoints.

These are the books I’m looking forward to reading for the first time, I hope everyone else had a great reading month.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

One thought on “May Book List

Leave a Reply

