Firstlife | Book Review

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This story follows the idea that life is just a prelude to the afterlife which is when your life really begins. There are two different realms in the afterlife, Troika and Myriad, each with their own positives and negatives, but the two realms are at war so once you have chosen a side there is no going back.

Something about Tenley is special, both realms are desperate for her to choose them, but despite all the pressure she feels to choose, she’s not quite sure. She understands that choosing a realm is the most important decision she will ever make so she’s determined to take her time to make up her own mind, with no influence from others, especially not her parents who have already chosen their side and will do anything for Tenley to join them.

Ten is a very cool character, she is under enormous pressure, not to mention having been basically sacrificed by her parents to stay in an asylum until she has agreed to their choice, with doctors who are willing to do whatever it takes to get Ten to acquiesce. She doesn’t let them weaken her though, if anything her resolve strengthens and she fights harder than ever for her right to choose.

I thought the whole premise of Firstlife was really fascinating and well thought out. Both realms held an appeal and it wasn’t until maybe more than half way through the book you realised that one side had better intentions and would be the better choice for Ten. Though you will probably have your suspicions early on.

Ten’s relationships with the two main male characters in this book are really great, and I can’t say how happy I was that it wasn’t turned into a love triangle situation. I’m sorry if that’s a bit of a spoiler for people, but I really liked that the friendship Ten had with Archer didn’t turn into anything more. It more closely resembled a close sibling relationship. Her relationship with Killian on the other hand was anything but platonic. I love how their relationship develops. Killian is such a perfect bad boy with the secret golden heart character. All three of them are really great characters that I quickly became really invested in.

When I picked this book up, I hadn’t heard anything about it, but the back cover, and the front cover if I’m honest, interested me straight away so I bought it, and I’m so glad I did. Firstlife is such a great read, the only disappointing thing about it is that because it’s brand new I’ll have quite a wait ahead of me for the next instalment to come out.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

One thought on “Firstlife | Book Review

Leave a Reply

