April Book List

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Most of April was spent finishing reading books from last month and reading books off my kindle, I didn’t really buy any new books. I find it easier to read my kindle a lot of the time, it’s easy to carry around and it contains multiple books at a time, but there’s nothing quite like having the physical book. They also look much better in photos and on the bookshelf, so I’m hoping to add some more paperback books to my shelf in May.

I’m trying to get back into good reading habits, because as much as I love books sometimes I can get a bit lazy when it comes to sitting down to read, or I’m too tired to read at the end of the day. It’s too easy sometimes to get distracted by other things, but I’m going make more of an effort to pick up a book instead of just wasting time on my phone or browsing online for what can often turn into hours.

I’ve read a few other books by Suzanne Wright, Burn is the first book in her newest series The Dark in You which focuses on the different breeds of demons and the world they live in. She writes mostly supernatural romance style books, which feature kickarse women and the overprotective, often overbearing men they fall in love with. I really enjoyed this book, Harper the female protagonist was really cool and witty, she had her own strength and didn’t need any male to save her but the relationship she develops with the powerful demon Knox is really fun to read.

I really enjoyed the latest book by R. L. Mathewson, Fated: A Pyte/Sentinel Novel. I find Mathewson’s style to be fairly similar to Wright’s, she too writes supernatural romance, featuring strong female characters who have to deal with males who think they know best. Mathewson’s two main characters often have conflicted relationships that start out with them driving each other crazy before they realise that maybe it was just love all along. There’s great banter between Kara and Drew in this book that results in a passionate relationship so strong they would die for each other but that doesn’t stop them from having a little fun along the way, often at the hilarious expense of the other.

In Servant of the Crown Alison is an independent woman who likes her life just the way it is, but when she receives a letter from the royal family summoning her to the castle to serve as a lady in waiting for the Dowager she’s not impressed. I thought this book started out really well, set in a different land with magical elements, Alison gets thrown together in situations with an arrogant Prince lacking in manners. It started out as a story about romance and the relationship that develops between Alison and the Prince, but about halfway through it was as though the plot of the book became something else entirely. I didn’t mind the different parts of the story, but they seemed very disjointed from each other, as though author Melissa McShane should have written them as two separate books. And I might have liked it better if they had been.

I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked, hopefully next month will be a better reading month!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Leave a Reply

