March Book List

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

I became obsessed with BookTube this month, I found it was really great for finding new book recommendations and I don’t know why I didn’t get onto it sooner. I now have a great wish list that I’m looking forward to working my way through. I’ve discovered some great new authors and fantasy series that sound right up my alley that I can’t wait to read. I’d started to feel like I was just reading the same thing over and over again, so it’s good to finally get onto some books that feel fresh and original.

This month I started on some of the newly discovered fantasy reads, I’m really just wanting to read fantasy at the moment so I’m really glad to have a wish list at the ready, because I was feeling like I was in a bit of a fantasy slump for a while.

For the first 30-40 pages I wasn’t quite sure about Shatter Me, the writing style put me off a little, if you’ve read it you’ll know what I mean, but the more I read the more engrossed I got by the story and couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. I really enjoyed this book, the dystopian setting and characters, whose intentions you’re not quite clear on. It was a really interesting story, different to other books I’ve read, with a gripping plot that just continues to hint at big things still to come in the next books in the series.

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

A Snow White retelling, The Shadow Queen is a lot more magic focused than the original fairy tale and I really enjoyed the new twist on a classic. The magical setting of this book is really great, with so much going on in different areas of the kingdom that are directly connected to the evil queen sitting on the heroine’s throne. Lorelai is a strong heroine, with power of her own as she fights to regain her kingdom, the huntsman had his own interesting backstory and was a much different character than has previously been written about. I’ve only just started reading this book but I’m already really enjoying it.

I’m pretty sure all book lovers have read the Throne of Glass series so far, or at the very least heard a lot about it. I’m working my way back through the series, it feels like so long ago I first read it and it’s such a great series so I’m really keen to reread it. Celaena is such a great heroine and the world Sarah J. Maas created with this book is so fascinating. I think I’ll try to read one of these books every month for my Maas fix, and then her next book in the series will be out later this year.

I’ve only read the back of this book and haven’t heard much about it, but the blurb sounded interesting so I thought I would add this to my reading list. Firstlife deals with the afterlife, but based on a concept that the afterlife is when your life really begins which sounds like a really interesting premise. It sounds like it could be a fun adventurous read, and also I really like the cover which is what first got my attention. They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but sometimes it’s hard to go past a really good looking cover!

So they were my new books for March, hope you had a great reading month.

Happy Reading

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Leave a Reply

