Rainy Day Reading

File 4-07-2015 2 37 42 pm

It’s a gloomy winter day here in Melbourne. Thank goodness it’s the weekend though and that means that I can stay inside and cozy up with a book for the day. I don’t know about you but that’s my absolute favourite thing to do on a cold rainy day.

I’m between books at the moment so I find myself going back to books I’ve already read and really enjoyed. Do you ever go back and read books again? I love it. To me, it feels like catching up with friends, it’s familiar and fun. You already know the characters and the story but you can still lose yourself in their adventures and sometimes even enjoy it more the second, third or fourth time around. Yes that’s right I have some books that I’ve loved so much that I have read more than twice!

For me the books that I read more than once are the ones that had me fall in love with the characters and the world that the author created. Everyone has their favourite authors that they go back to regularly and I love nothing more than to discover someone new to add to that list of favourites.

One author I’m seriously loving at the moment is Sarah J. Maas, I wrote a review on her book A Court of Thorns and Roses a while ago, but I’ve also read her Throne of Glass series, which if you haven’t read you seriously need to check out right now. It is amazing!! I read that series on my kindle but I’ll be buying the books of them soon and re-reading. Another author whose books I always read more than once is K. M. Shea, who writes really great fairy tale retellings through her Timeless Fairy Tales series.

Whether you pick up a new book or an old favourite, I hope you spend some of your weekend reading. Let me know any books that you’ve read more than once, I’m always on the lookout for new characters to love and worlds to explore.

Happy Reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

