A Court of Thorns and Roses | Book Review

Lately I have been reading some really great books. Every now and again I go through a phase of not being able to find anything good, but the last few books have been amazing. I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses. Really, really loved it! It’s definitely one of the best books that I’ve read lately. It is a retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairy-tale, but the author kept it fresh and new through the creation of a magical world that was filled with great characters and horrifying creatures.

I was immediately captivated by this world; I fell in love with its beauty and its bleakness, and the history that Sarah J. Maas created.

It’s a bleak life we’re first introduced to, with the heroine Feyre struggling to look after her family during the harsh winter. Her life is hard and lonely, and not showing any sign of getting any better. We also learn of the magical realm that borders her human lands, the mystery of it and the threat that it holds to Feyre’s mortal realm. Feyre is a great heroine, she is by no means fearless but puts her own life in harm’s way so she can look after her family, and it only makes her sacrifices that much more selfless, and her character stronger. Her first meeting with Tamlin is intense, but shows just how far Feyre will go to protect her family.

Once you get past Tamlin’s beast form you see that he is really sweet in a quiet sort of way. He is noble and very protective of his people. Both Feyre and Tamlin understand the sacrifices that are needed in order to protect others, and this is what seems to draw them to each other, they finally meet someone who understands how lonely they are. Their relationship is really sweet because of this shared loneliness and sense of duty.

There are some really great secondary characters in this story, I loved Lucien and Rhysand, they were both charming and interesting in their own ways. I was also pleasantly surprised by Nesta, there was always so much more to every character that what I, and even at times Feyre, first thought. Maas created great main characters that were neither fully good nor fully bad, they all had both elements to them and it made them more real and interesting.

I can’t say enough how much I loved this book, it’s one of those books that I wish I hadn’t read just so I could read it for the first time all over again! I cannot wait for the next books in this trilogy, there is just so much more to these characters and to the story. Maas has now become a must read author for me, adding to my list of favourites and I’ll be on the lookout for any more of her books.

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses | Book Review

Leave a Reply

